State Advisory Team

* Purpose of the State Advisory Team *

*Participation on the Citizen Review Panel*

The Michigan Child Death State Advisory Team (2012)

Chair:
Colin Parks
Program Manager
CPS and Family Preservation Programs
Michigan Dept of Human Services
235 S Grand Avenue, Suite 510
Lansing MI 48909
Phone: (517) 388-5125 Fax: (517) 241-7047
Email: ParksC@michigan.gov
Brooke Brantley-Gilbert
Investigator
Office of the Children’s Ombudsman
Michigan National Tower
First Floor, Suite 100
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 373-3077 Fax: (517) 335-4471
Email: Brantley-GilbertB@michigan.gov
Seth Persky
Director, Office of Family Advocate
Michigan Dept of Human Services
235 S Grand Avenue Suite 1512
Lansing MI 48909
Ph: (517) 335-3969 Fax: (517)241-8125
Email: PerskyS@michigan.gov
Debi Cain
Director, Domestic Violence Prevention and
Treatment Board
Michigan Dept of Human Services
235 S Grand Avenue Suite 510
Lansing MI 48909
Ph: (517) 241-5114 Fax: (517) 241-8903
CainD@michigan.gov
Linda Scarpetta
Manager
Injury & Violence Prevention Section
Michigan Department of Community Health
109 Michigan Avenue
Lansing MI 48933
Phone: (517) 335-8397 Fax: (517) 335-9669
Email: scarpettal@michigan.gov
Brenda R. Fink
Director
Div. of Family & Community Health
MI Department of Community Health
Washington Square Building
109 Michigan Ave.
Lansing, MI 48933
Phone: (517) 335-8863 Fax: (517) 335-8294
Email: finkb@michigan.gov
John Shaffer
Manager
Mid Michigan Medical Center EMS
4601 Wellness Drive
Midland MI 48640
Phone: (989) 633-1310 Fax: (989) 633-1303
Email: john.shaffer@midmichigan.org
Ron Frantz
Prosecutor, Ottawa County Prosecutors Office
414 Washington Avenue
Room 208
Grand Haven MI 49417
Phone: (616)846-8215
Email: rfrantz@miottawa.org
Dr Debra Simms, Division Chief
Center for Child Protection
Helen DeVos Children's Hospital
545 Michigan NE, Suite 203, MC 178
Grand Rapids MI 49503
Phone: (616) 391-1242 Fax: (616) 391-3206
Email: debra.simms@devoschildrens.org or
tracy.cyrus@devoschildrens.org
Rosemary Fournier
Program Coordinator
Nurse Family Partnership
Michigan Department of Community Health
109 W Michigan Avenue
Lansing MI 48933
Phone: (517) 335-8416 Fax: (517) 335-8822
Email: fournierr1@michigan.gov
Stacey Tadgerson
Director, Native American Affairs
Michigan Department of Human Services
235 S Grand Avenue, Suite 216
Lansing MI 48909
Ph: (517) 335-7782
Email: TadgersonS@michigan.gov
Shirley Mann Gray
Administrative Director
Children’s Hospital of Michigan
3901 Beaubien
Detroit, MI 48201
Phone: (313) 745-5281 Fax: (313) 993-7106
Email: sgray@dmc.org
Chief Mark Wilk
St Ignace Police Department
396 N. State Street
St. Ignace MI 49781
Phone: (906) 643-6077
Email: wilkster@lighthouse.net
Kelly Howard
Child Welfare Services
State Court Administrative Office
PO BOX 30048
Lansing MI 48909
Ph: (517) 373-8671 Fax: (517) 373-8922
Email: HowardK@courts.mi.gov
Dr Allecia Wilson
Medical Examiner
University of Michigan Department of Pathology
Wayne and Washtenaw County Medical Examiner Offices
Email: alleciaw@med.umich.edu
Kim Kovalchick
Coordinated School Health and Safety Programs Unit
Michigan Department of Education
608 W Allegan
PO Box 30008
Lansing MI 48933
Phone: (517) 241-4292
Email: kovalchickk@michigan.gov
Amy Zaagman
Executive Director
MI Council for Maternal and Child Health
221 N Walnut Street
Lansing MI 48933
Phone: (517) 482-5807 Fax: (517) 372-3002
Email: azaagman@mcmch.org
Joseph Kozakiewicz
Director
Chance at Childhood
610 Abbot Road
East Lansing, MI 48823
Phone: (517)336-8088 Fax: (517)336-8089
Email: kozakiew@msu.edu
 
MPHI – CDR Program Office
2455 Woodlake Circle
Okemos MI 48864
Phone: (517) 324-7330 Fax: (517) 324-7365

Purpose of State Advisory Team

The purpose of the State Advisory Team is to provide guidance, expertise and consultation in analyzing and understanding the causes, trends and system responses to child fatalities, and to make recommendations in law, policy and practice to prevent child deaths in Michigan.  The committee also provides support to local teams, recommends improvements in protocols and procedures for the Keeping Kids Alive program and reviews Michigan's child mortality data as well as local child death review team reports to identify causes, risk factors and trends in child deaths.  The State Advisory Team is responsible for preparing an annual report that is presented to the Governor and the Legislature on child fatalities in Michigan. The Michigan Department of Human Services has administrative responsibility for the team.

Participation on Citizen Review Panel

Many of the people who serve on the State Advisory Team additionally participate on the Citizen Review Panel (CRP) on Child Fatalities. The Federal Government mandated the formation of this and two other Panels in 1999, for the purpose of providing an opportunity for citizens to aid in ensuring that states meet goals of protecting children from abuse and neglect by evaluating the strengths, weaknesses and challenges in the child welfare delivery system. This CRP meets quarterly, reviewing and examining the identified cases of child abuse and neglect that have occurred within a given year. At the end of the calendar year the Panel compiles their findings and recommendations in a report that is presented to the Department of Human Services for their knowledge and consideration, in hopes of improving the child welfare system in Michigan.